April

Matthew 6: 25-34

 “Therefore, I say to you, don’t worry about your life, what you’ll eat or what you’ll drink, or about your body, what you’ll wear. Isn’t life more than food and the body more than clothes?  Instead, desire first and foremost God’s kingdom and God’s righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore, stop worrying about tomorrow, because tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

Wednesday night as I strolled into youth group I was extremely stressed out. Between AP tests, finals, basketball, lacrosse, club and friend drama, April has not exactly been my friend. I’m sure many of you feel this way, like stress builds upon itself until pretty soon it looks less like a manageable bridge and more like a Jenga tower on its last leg. After we had our lesson and a particularly grueling game of floor hockey, (seriously my favorite part of youth group), I settled in on one of the orange couches and we began to talk about how life was going, and I think we all made it obvious we were stressed out.

Here is the thing about stress, it isn’t going to go away. After your one big test there will be another one. After one problem is dealt with, another one will come on its heals. That’s how life works. And I can forget that, and on this particular week I did. But as I do with most of my problems I turned to the bible for reassurance. And I found this verse about worry, and I literally felt weight being lifted off my shoulders.

“Instead, desire first and foremost God’s kingdom and God’s righteousness”, wow. Such a simple sentence, but such an overwhelming thing to do. To understand that all of your stresses are only on this Earth, and when thinking of your problems to remember they are only Earthly.

So listen to me when I say, yes life is stressful, it is meant to be. But do not spend all of your attention worrying about all of the stress. Instead focus on how you can live your life each and every day exalting God’s name, and I guarantee that will help you solve your problems.

I pray that this month that with whatever you are stressing about that you turn to God. That you realize he is always there with an open ear and heart. I pray that you surrender all of your worries to him, and that you live every day in his name.

Thanks for reading and have a blessed month!!

Image result for matthew 6 34

Leave a Reply

