May

1 John 3:18

“Dear Children, let us not love with words or speech but with actions and in truth” 

Hi everyone! So recently as I was looking back  at a research paper I wrote earlier this year for my English class. It was on whether or not long term goal setting is actually beneficial and leads to success. I swear, it was more interesting than it sounds. I came to the conclusion, after much research and debate, that personally my biggest goal in life is happiness.

That sounds nice doesn’t it? But true happiness, the kind I am looking for, is more than just a laugh or a smile. It’s a kind of quality that allows you to be a light. So after rereading this paper, I began looking for ways to be happier in my life, and I stumbled upon this article that Jackie Ortegel, a very awesome lady that I have gotten the pleasure to know, shared on her Facebook timeline.

The article is called “12 Things I See Happy People Do (that unhappy people do not)” by Rev. Shane L. Bishop, Sr. Pastor of Christ Church in Fairview Heights, Illinois. The article talks a lot about how you have to make happiness, it is not something that just happens.

The idea that happiness is an action reminded me of this awesome bible verse, because in order to do a lot of things, be happy, loving, and a Christian, you need to support your words with actions.

This bible verse reminds me that being a Christian is a lot more than saying you believe in Jesus. It’s more than having a bible verse in your social media bio, or attending church. Being a true Christian is about action, about showing the world how your faith impacts you as a person.

Thanks for reading! I hope from this you take that happiness is action, and it will help you act more in your faith. Have a blessed month!

Image result for 1 John 3:18

Leave a Reply

